Essay On Indian Flag for students and Children | PDF Download

Essay on Indian Flag

Long Essay On Indian Flag

Indian flag – Pride of the Country.

“A thoughtful mind when it sees a National Flag sees not the flag, but the Nation itself”

Every country has its flag. The national flag is our diverse uniqueness as being a citizen of an independent nation. The national flag is the symbol of harmony, sovereignty, patriotism towards the country. The connotation of our motherland is depicted through the national flag. India is a country with varied religions, cultures, traditions, languages, caste, and creeds. But, the unity of the people in India is the delight of our country.

Indian flag is a horizontal rectangular tricolor. The tricolors are the Saffron at the pinnacle, White in the center, and the color Green in the bottom in equal proportions. In the center of the white band is a navy blue Ashoka Chakra with 24 spokes.

Most of the Government offices and buildings have the national flag hoisted on the roofs. The national flag is hoisted twice a year, on the occasions of Independence Day and Republic day in every state of the country. Even the citizens of India show their patriotism towards the nation by hoisting the flag in their respective regions. Indian Flag is mostly honored and respected by the people in all the strides of life.

“It will be necessary for us Indian – Muslims, Hindus, Christians Jews, Paris, and all the others to whom India is their home-to recognize a common flag to live and to die for”.

History Of Indian Flag

Mahatma Gandhi was the person to make a proposal to the Indian National Congress for the National flag in the year 1921. The National Flag was adopted in the meeting of the Constituent Assembly held on 22 July in the year 1947, a few days before India’s independence from the British on 15th of August in the year 1947. Additionally, the National Flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya.

The National flag had various changes from its first inception to its current form. It came into evolution during our struggle for freedom. The Indian flag has gone through many changes, this depicts the political progress in the country. The different forms of our National flag are discussed below.

  • First National Flag: The flag is said to be hoisted on August 7th, in the year 1906 in the Green Park in Kolkata. The flag was serene of three horizontal stripes with the colors Green at the top, yellow in the center, and orange at the bottom. The green color consisted of the flower lotus, yellow had writings of ‘Vande Mataram” And the color orange at the bottom had sun and the moon symbols on it.
  • Second National Flag: This flag was hoisted in Paris by Madame Cama and her band of deported avant-garde in the year 1907. This was very similar to the first flag, only the lotus symbols at the top were converted to stars, indicating the Saptarishi. This flag also was exhibited at a social conference in Berlin.
  • Third National Flag: It was hoisted in the year 1917 when we had a political struggle for our Independence. This flag had five red and four green horizontal strips alternatively.
  • Fourth National Flag: The Indian National Committee which meet at Bezwada in the year 1921 designed a flag and took it to Gandhiji notice. It was of two colors red and green. Representing the two religions Hindu and Muslims. Gandhi suggested adding on the white color representing the other religion Christianity. Spinning wheel to symbolize the progress of the nation.
  • Fifth National Flag: The remarkable history of our national flag took place in the year 1931. Adopting the Tricolor National Flag was implemented. The color of the flag was Saffron, White, and Green, with the spinning wheel of Mahatma Gandhi at the center.
  • Sixth National Flag: Free India National Flag was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 22nd July in the year 1947. The colors of the flag remained constant, the Dharma Chakra of Emperor Ashoka was adopted in place of the spinning wheel. Thus, the flag of the congress party eventually became the National Flag of India.

The Indian flag is of three colors called the “Tiranga” The three colors have their own significance for the prosperity and progress of the nation. The color saffron represents bravery and forfeit. The color white indicates serenity and truth. Furthermore, the green color symbolizes loyalty and graciousness.

The Asoka Chakra at the center indicates the eternal wheel of law. 24 spokes in the wheel are the hours of a day. This depicts that, India shall continue in the efforts for a nonviolent, progressive and authoritative nation.

The Indian Flag is given the most prominence by all the people in the country. The sovereignty of the country is represented by the National flag.

Essay On Indian Flag for students and Children | PDF Download

Dear Students and Children, you can download the Indian Flag Essay in the Hand Written Format by Clicking the Below Click Here Link.

Indian Flag Essay- Important Link
To download the Indian Flag Essay PDFClick Here